Life Experiences

A Lazy Note

So this is how my week was:

Lazy Sunday – woke up late, spent the day trying to read a novel, slept, woke up, got ready and went to office on Monday, then lazy evening spent at home again tying to read, slept, woke up and repeat for next 5 days.

Yes I was bitten by a bug of boredom. Don’t you have those moments when you feel like doing nothing? I am overactive by nature. I cannot stay still. I cannot just sit idle watching TV. Even while watching TV I need a book in hand so that I can read when the commercials are on.

But this particular week took me completely by surprise. It was so not like me to just laze around. I fought it. I tried to go for a walk. Tried to watch TV. Tried to read. Tried to plan a holiday. Tried to call few friends for dinner. Tried too many things but all in vain. End of it I was irritated, frustrated and disappointed. Then I thought of trying something else. I embraced boredom. I just thought to myself “I have done enough activities for past two months and have enough planned for next three. Let’s enjoy this phase too”

So here is what I did – I DID NOTHING.

I just ate – slept – woke up and ate – slept – woke up. Yes, I heard too many lectures from my Mom. Initially it was about how lazy I am and how I don’t help her in anything and how I should learn to cook but later on it turned to enquiries about if I m feeling alright or have I fought with a friend of mine? But I had nothing to say.

Eventually it turned out to be a pretty good week. Since now I feel I have wasted almost an entire week of my life I am determined to do something fruitful of what is left. It’s like one of those life changing moments when a person meets with an accident and then as he recovers he suddenly is on a mission to change the world (not exactly same but quite close). Yes I am on a mission to do something good now. Will keep you updated.

For now that’s it. A lazy note from lazy person today. It’s okay to be lazy sometimes and it is okay to do nothing. As everybody needs some rest once in a while and as Bruno Mars says

” Today I don’t feel like doing anything
I just wanna lay in my bed
Don’t feel like picking up my phone
So leave a message at the tone
‘Cause today I swear I’m not doing anything”

Enjoy the song.

 

Leave a Reply

